Home » Politics

The parliament rejects the president’s veto and solidifies the 8% barrier

Submitted on Wednesday, 22 April 2009No Comment
The parliament rejects the president’s veto and solidifies the 8% barrier

With 127 votes, the members of parliament rejected the veto of the president Georgi Parvanov. Thus, the election barrier for coalitions remains at the higher 8% barrier.

Only three members of parliament voted in support of the veto – two independent and Georgi Bliznashki from “Coalition for Bulgaria”.

The changes in the election laws were approved by 76 members of parliament from “Coalition for Bulgaria”, 33 from the Movement for rights and freedoms, 4 members of parliament from “Ataka”, 11 from “Order, law and justice” and 3 independent ones.

Deputies from NDSV, DSB, ODS, BND and “Napred” did not participate in the voting.

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.

More news from Politics

» Dilma Rousseff - a Bulgarian immigrant daughter - is the new President of Brazil
» 30 000 Bulgarian citizenship applications approved in 2010
» Bulgaria will support the unified commission of the EU for swine flu vaccine delivery
» Tsvetanov is a full-fledged politician
» Nadejda Mihailova for EU commissioner